20131027-Fleuve St-Laurent-Canada-160540

Our values

INSPIRED BY NATURE TO ACT BETTER

I grew up being close to nature. Legend has it that I was conceived during an off-trail cross-country skiing trip my parents took in the heart of the Canadian Rockies. At two years old, still in diapers, I traveled lakes and rivers on my parents' canoe expeditions. When I was seven years old, I went for several days in the Adirondacks with my father, when hiking was not the fashionable activity that it is now.

 

Today, I am a jeweler. Sagana Créations is inspired by nature and regularly uses natural materials to create quality products. When I think back to my childhood, it's no surprise that I believe we need to do more than learn from nature. We must do the best we can for the planet and our environment.

 

Drawing inspiration from nature is good, but it's not enough. Nature can no longer be seen simply as an inspiration, a commodity, a storehouse of “resources” for human use and profit. It must be considered as a partner and a model in any human endeavour.

BUYING IS VOTE

By purchasing a work from Sagana Creations, you are sure to invest with an artisan who has sustainable, ethical and ecological practices at heart and who will do everything in his power to offer you versatile, quality and durable products, and this, in the greatest transparency.

 
 

Concrete actions

With this in mind, I have been wondering for several years how to integrate my values into my activities as an artisan-jeweller. How to refuse the status quo and go further. How do I fit into a system that advocates life rather than destruction.

 

As humans, everything we do has an impact on the environment around us and on the beings who live there. Jewelery is a profession that fascinates me, but it is not the most ecological. We have a long way to go at this level, whether it is through the products used in the manufacture of jewelry or the controversies surrounding the mining industry and the exploitation of stones.

 

I am constantly looking for new ways to make this profession more eco-responsible. And I also seek to fight against the already established norms of overconsumption, easy, impulsive and very often poor quality purchases.

 

I continue my research to integrate these principles so that my creations are eco-responsible. I have made mistakes from time to time and I will probably make more. But I will try to learn from it, innovate and continue to adapt.

 

Jewelry also has the excellent advantage of using metals in an almost infinite way. Even dust can be refined and reused. Metal is extremely versatile and despite its hardness, it is malleable and can be transformed in amazing ways.

MEASURES ALREADY IMPLEMENTED:

1.

Do not use resins in the materials I use. And limited the plastic to the essentials.

2.

Use recycled wood from scrap wood from a local cabinetmaker.

3.

Prioritize creations that will use a stock of Canadian stones that I bought from a jeweler who was retiring

AE98C84A-1E08-4B17-9694-03C7FE49AEF4.jpe

4.

Use of vegetable tanned leather from scraps from a local trade. 

5.

The stains and varnishes used are water-based and non-toxic.

6.

Minimize packaging and use natural and easily recyclable materials. No plastic or petroleum-based products (styrofoam or bubble wrap) will be used.

7.

Donate 5% of sales to the "David Suzuki Foundation" (for sales from January 1, 2021)

8.

I keep my eyes open to reuse and recycle several elements such as old jewelry, broken pottery, sea glass and industrial slag to integrate them into my creations.

MEASURES TO INCLUDE:

  • Prioritize recycled silver. The purpose of using recycled metals is to reduce the impact of the mining industry, whether small or large scale. Our use of recycled metals indirectly contributes to reducing the use of chemicals needed to extract new metals from mines.

  • Find out about the supply and use of "Ecosilver" certified silver It happens that recycled metal ends up being mixed with new metal. Suppliers often have no way of assuring us with certainty that 100% of their metal comes from old recycled metals because no traceability is guaranteed. Ecosilver silver is an eco-friendly alternative to sterling silver. Composed of 100% recycled silver products, Ecosilver can be both treated and worked in the same way as silver, for the same quality results, it is simply more ecological.

  • Obtain "Fairmined" certification for all mining products.

  • Put myself in search of eco-responsible leather. A vegetable tanned animal leather from food. Ideally I would like to find leather with traceability characteristics. Vegan leather is an industrial product that uses chemicals. So I will not retain this option for the moment.

 

The team

76A93AE5-E052-42DA-BFDC-03CDECF0C76B_edi

Joanie L. Pauze

Owner, designer and artisan-jeweler

  • Gris Facebook Icône
  • Gris Icône Instagram

Joanie founded Sagana Créations when she started in jewelry in 2013. She has always been passionate about everything related to creative arts and manual work such as drawing and knitting, but also for permaculture. Sagana Créations is the meeting point between his different passions.

12869467-EA63-4897-BE10-FA3FE3BFCCBD_edi

Marc-Andre Pauze

Photographer / philosophical & poetic adviser

  • Gris Facebook Icône
  • Gris Icône YouTube
  • Gris Icône Instagram

Photographer / writer and artist-traveler, Marc-André brings his know-how at  the visual design of the site, with his photography and his  video capsules. He is also the philosophical and poetic advisor of Sagana Creations while being a spark blower.

E8DE6B8C-99CD-43F2-BB74-6B49C31AA6D6_edi

Veronique Lefebvre

Jeweler and design assistance

  • Gris Facebook Icône
  • Gris Icône Instagram

Jeweler since 2004, Véronique brings her talent and creativity to Sagana Créations in addition to having her own business. You can discover his work through his jewelry and his miniatures. Enter a universe inspired by nature with a little magic.

20131027-Fleuve St-Laurent-Canada-160540

Nos valeurs

Inspirées par la nature pour mieux agir

J’ai grandi en étant proche de la nature. La légende raconte que j’ai été conçue pendant un voyage de ski de fond hors-piste que mes parents ont fait au cœur des Rocheuses canadiennes. À deux ans, encore aux couches, je parcourais des lacs et des rivières pendant les expéditions de canot de mes parents. À sept ans, je partais pendant plusieurs jours dans les Adirondacks avec mon père, alors que la randonnée n’était pas l’activité à la mode qu’elle est maintenant.

 

Aujourd'hui, je suis artisan-joaillière. Sagana Créations s’inspire de la nature et utilise régulièrement des matériaux naturels pour créer des produits de qualité. Quand je repense à mon enfance, il n’est pas surprenant que je crois que nous devons faire plus que s’inspirer de la nature. Nous devons agir de notre mieux pour la planète et notre environnement.

 

S'inspirer de la nature, c'est bien, mais ce n'est pas assez. La nature ne peut plus être considérée simplement comme une inspiration, une marchandise, un entrepôt de «ressources» pour l’usage humain et le profit. Elle doit être considérée comme un partenaire et un modèle dans toute entreprise humaine.

Acheter c'est voter

En vous procurant une œuvre de Sagana Creations, vous vous assurez d’investir auprès d'un artisan qui a à cœur des pratiques durables, éthiques et écologiques et qui fera tout en son pouvoir pour vous offrir des produits versatiles, de qualité et durable, et ce, dans la plus grande transparence.

 
 

Actions concrètes

Dans cette optique, je me questionne depuis plusieurs années comment intégrer mes valeurs à mes activités d'artisan-joaillière. Comment refuser le statu quo et aller plus loin. Comment m'intégrer dans un système qui préconise la vie plutôt que la destruction.

 

En tant qu'humain, tout ce que nous faisons a un impact sur l'environnement qui nous entoure et sur les êtres qui y vivent. La joaillerie est un métier qui me passionne, mais ce n’est pas le plus écologique. On a bien du chemin à faire à ce niveau, que ce soit par les produits utilisés lors de la fabrication des bijoux ou les controverses entourant l’industrie minière et l'exploitation de pierres.

 

Je suis constamment à la recherche de nouvelles façons de faire pour rendre ce métier plus écoresponsable. Et je cherche aussi à lutter contre les normes déjà établies de surconsommation, de l’achat facile, impulsif et très souvent de mauvaise qualité.

 

Je continue ma recherche pour intégrer ces principes afin que mes créations soient écoresponsables. Il m'est arrivée de commettre des erreurs et j'en ferai probablement d'autres. Mais j' essayerai d’en tirer des leçons, d’innover et de poursuivre à m'adapter.

 

La joaillerie a aussi l’excellent avantage d’utiliser les métaux de façon quasi infinie. Même les poussières peuvent être raffinées et réutilisées. Le métal est extrêmement versatile et malgré sa dureté, il est malléable et peut être transformé de façon étonnante.

MESURES DÉJÀ IMPLANTÉES:

1.

Ne pas utiliser de résines dans les matériaux que j'utilise. Et limité le plastique à l'essentiel.

2.

Utiliser du bois recyclé provenant de retailles de bois d'un artisan ébéniste local.

3.

Prioriser des créations qui utiliseront un stock de pierres canadiennes que j'ai acheté d'une joaillière qui prenait sa retraite

4.

Utilisation de cuir à tannage végétal provenant de retaille d'un commerce local. 

5.

Les teintures et vernis utilisés sont à base d'eau et non-toxiques.

6.

Minimiser l'emballage et utiliser des matériaux naturels et facilement recyclables. Aucun plastique ni de produits à base de pétrole (styromousse ou papiers bulles) ne sera utilisé.

7.

Remettre 5% des ventes à la "Fondation David Suzuki" (pour les ventes à compter du 1er janvier 2021)

8.

Je garde les yeux ouverts afin de réutiliser et recycler plusieurs éléments tels que d'anciens bijoux, poterie cassée, du verre de mer et des scories industrielles pour les intégrer à mes créations.

MESURES À INTÉGRER:

  • Privilégier l'argent recyclé. L’utilisation de métaux recyclés a pour objectif de réduire l’impact de l’industrie minière, que ce soit à petite ou à grande échelle. Notre utilisation de métaux recyclés contribue indirectement à réduire l’utilisation des produits chimiques nécessaires à l’extraction de nouveaux métaux des mines.

  • M'informer sur l'approvisionnement et l'utilisation d'argent certifié "Ecosilver" Il arrive que le métal recyclé finisse par être mélangé avec du métal neuf. Les fournisseurs n’ont souvent aucun moyen de nous assurer avec certitude que 100% de son métal est issu d’ancien métaux recyclés car aucune traçabilité n’est garantie. L'argent Ecosilver est une alternative écologique à l'argent sterling. Composé à 100% de produits en argent recyclé, Ecosilver peut être à la fois traité et travaillé de la même manière que l'argent, pour les mêmes résultats de qualité, il est simplement plus écologique.

  • Obtenir la certification "Fairmined" pour tous produits d'activités minières.

  • Me mettre à la recherhe de cuir éco-responsable. Un cuir animal à tannage végétal et issu de l'alimentation. Idéalement je voudrais trouver un cuir présentant des caractéristiques de traçabilité. Le cuir végane est un produit industriel qui utilise des produits chimiques. Donc je ne retiendrai pas cette option pour le moment.

L'équipe

76A93AE5-E052-42DA-BFDC-03CDECF0C76B.jpe

Joanie L. Pauzé

Propriétaire, conceptrice et Artisan-joaillière

  • Gris Facebook Icône
  • Gris Icône Instagram

Joanie a fondée Sagana Créations à ses début en joaillerie en 2013. Elle s'est toujours passionnée pour tout ce qui touche aux arts créatifs et au travail manuel comme le dessin et le tricot, mais également pour la permaculture. Sagana créations est le point de jonction entre ses différentes passions.

12869467-EA63-4897-BE10-FA3FE3BFCCBD_edi

Marc-André Pauzé

Photographe / conseillé philosophique & poétique

  • Gris Facebook Icône
  • Gris Icône YouTube
  • Gris Icône Instagram

Photographe /écrivain et artiste-voyageur, Marc-André apporte son savoir-faire à la conception visuelle du site, avec ses  photographies et éventuellement des capsules vidéos. Il est aussi le conseiller philosophique et poétique de Sagana Creations tout en étant un souffleur d'étincelles.

E8DE6B8C-99CD-43F2-BB74-6B49C31AA6D6.jpe

Véronique Lefebvre

Joaillière et aide à la conception

  • Gris Facebook Icône
  • Gris Icône Instagram

Joailière depuis 2004, Véronique apporte son talent et sa créativité à Sagana Créations en plus d'avoir sa propre entreprise. Vous pouvez découvrir son travail à travers ses bijoux et ses miniatures. Entrez dans un univers inspiré de la nature avec un peu de féérie.